The Frustrations of a Would Be Writer

Today the temperature was more than 30 degrees Celsius. I know for many of you this probably represents springtime conditions. But for me it is just too, too hot. Nevertheless I have actually achieved quite a lot. This has necessitated numerous lie down on the sofa with the air conditioning on. I’m trying to do my bit for the environment and I felt bad about turning it on. I have also dutifully increased my intake of water.

The reason why the day has not been entirely satisfactory for me lies with the choices I had to make earlier in the day. I am a great believer in prioritizing tasks so clearly making a loving input into my neglected website Dance to Health was the first thing on the list.

In my heart though I longed to begin work on my second book. I wanted to start designing the plan of the town where the story is set. This plan kept coming into my mind and needed to be firmly banished. One of the signs of the passage of time where I am concerned is that I am no longer so good at multitasking. I need to fully concentrate on one thing at a time so I do not like switching from one projet to another.

When I wrote Tales my Ghanaian Grandmother Told MeI had the exceptionally good fortune of being able to concentrate solely on that project. Now like most people I have to find a specific time to write. Getting up an hour or so earlier is not appealing but may be the way forward as going to bed later is out of the question. I’m going to have to find a solution. I have ideas for the book which I am dying to put to paper but the problem is one of organization.

But that’s life and these things are sent to try us. When I’ve found a solution I’ll let you know!

http://www.squidoo.com/DonnetteDavisSMMarketing

2 Responses to “The Frustrations of a Would Be Writer”

  1. donnette Says:

    Oooh look herer sweetheart.. you have one of my pages mentioned…

    Thank you..

    Another beautiful post.. I feel your pain LOL..

    Been threateneing to get these books of mine edited and uploaded to my publisher since Monday.. it’s now Thursday LOL.. oopsie.. I blame a headache..

    But i shouldn’t.. I am the reason… lol..

    You’re beautiful.

    The kids and I miss you every single day.

  2. ghanaiangrandmother Says:

    Thanks for that. Hurry up and get your books uploaded. People need what you have to offer. Missing you and the kids all the time

Leave a Reply

